TREE Universität Bern
TREE cohort 1: Development of (average) income from 2003 to 2014

TREE cohort 1: Development of (average) income from 2003 to 2014

What is TREE?

TREE (Transitions from Education to Employment) is a large national panel survey following up compulsory school leavers from all over Switzerland through their post-compulsory education and training and into employment and adulthood. Observation of the first TREE cohort (TREE1) started in 2000. To date, ten follow-up surveys have been conducted. In 2014, survey participants were, on average, 30 years old.


Description of the visualisation

By means of dumbbell plots, the visualisation displays the development of the various subgroups' average monthly gross income throughout the period of observation (2003-2014). The blue plots show the nominal income, the orange plots represent full time equivalents (FTE). Placing the cursor on any one of the blue or orange arrows will display the income development curve of the respective subgroup. Placing the cursor on any of the data points of the curve will a tooltip will provide you with its numeric value and the number of cases on which the value is based. If the number of cases is below 30, the numeric value is displayed in red in order to signal limited accuracy of the average's estimation. Please not that the calculation only accounts for individuals who were not in education parallel to their gainful activity.

Blue line = nominal income (Nm)

Orange line = full time equivalent income (Fte)

DE = German-speaking Switzerland

IT / FR = French- and Italian-speaking Switzerland

SEK1 = extended academic requirements

SEK2 = basic academic requirements

EDUP1 = no post-compulsory degree

EDUP2 = degree at upper secondary level

EDUP3 = degree at tertiary level

HED0 = no post-compulsory degree

HED1 = upper secondary level: vocational education & training (VET)

HED2 = upper secondary level: vocational baccalaureate

HED4 = upper secondary level: general education baccalaureate

HED30 = tertiary level: professional education and training (PET)

HED31 = tertiary level: university



Data

You can download the original data HERE and the treated data HERE. THIS Github repository provided some inspiration for the present visualisation. Average income values are weighted, i.e. they account for (and correct) sample biases.


Contact

Programmer: Daniel Matyas

Bachelor Sport Science and Business Administration
Universität Bern

LinkedIn

Data Coach:
Thomas Meyer

Co-head of the TREE study
University of Bern, Institute of Sociology

TREE Website

TREE Universität Bern
1ère cohorte TREE: évolution des salaires moyens entre 2003 et 2014

1ère cohorte TREE: évolution des salaires moyens entre 2003 et 2014

Qu'est-ce TREE?

TREE (Transitions de l'école à l'emploi) est un grand sondage longitudinal qui suit des adolescents de toute la Suisse, après qu’ils ont terminé la scolarité obligatoire, sur leur chemin à travers la formation post-obligatoire et lors de leurs transitions vers la vie d’adulte et professionnelle. Un premier échantillon (TREE1) a terminé l’école obligatoire en 2000 et a été ré-interviewé dix fois entretemps. En 2014, la cohorte observée avait 30 ans en moyenne.


Déscription de la visualisation

Par le biais de dumbbell plots, la visualisation montre le développement du revenu moyen brut de divers sous-groupes à travers la période d'observation (2003 à 2014). Les lignes bleues représentent le revenu nominal (réel), les lignes oranges le revenu à équivalent plein-temps (Fte). Si vous placez le curseur sur une des flêches bleues ou oranges, vous obtiendrez la courbe de développement du sous-groupe respectif. Si vous placez le curseur sur un des points d'observation (data point), seront affichés la valeur numérique de celui-ci ainsi que le nombre de cas sur lequel la moyenne respective se base. Si ce dernier est < 30, la moyenne sera affichée en rouge afin de signaler le risque d'une erreur d'estimation accru dû à un (trop) petit nombre de cas. Veuillez noter que les personnes suivant une formation en parallèle à leur activité lucrative ne sont pas pris en compte dans notre calcul.

ligne bleue = revenu nominal (Nm)

ligne orange = revenu équivalent plein-temps (Fte)

DE = Suisse alémanique

IT / FR = Suisse francophone et italophone

SEK1 = exigences étendues

SEK2 = exigences de base

EDUP1 = sans degré post-obligatoire

EDUP2 = degré au niveau secondaire II

EDUP3 = degré au niveau tertiaire

HED0 = sans degré post-obligatoire

HED1 = niveau secondaire II: formation professionnelle (CFC)

HED2 = niveau secondaire II: maturité professionnelle

HED4 = niveau secondaire II: maturité gymnasiale

HED30 = niveau tertiaire: formation professionnelle supérieure

HED31 = niveau tertiaire: hautes écoles



Données

Vous avez la possibilité de télécharger les données originales ICI et les données traitées (revenu moyen) ICI. CE répositoire Github nous a fourni quelques inspirations pour la visualisation présente. Les valeurs moyennes des revenus sont pondérées, c.-à-d. elles tiennent compte de biais d'échantillon éventuels.


Contact

Programmeur: Daniel Matyas

Bachelor Sport Science and Business Administration
Université de Berne

LinkedIn

Data Coach:
Thomas Meyer

Co-directeur de l'étude TREE
Université de Berne, institut de sociologie

TREE Website