TREE Universität Bern
TREE cohort 1: Development of (average) income from 2003 to 2014

TREE cohort 1: Development of (average) income from 2003 to 2014

What is TREE?

TREE (Transitions from Education to Employment) is a large national panel survey following up compulsory school leavers from all over Switzerland through their post-compulsory education and training and into employment and adulthood. Observation of the first TREE cohort (TREE1) started in 2000. To date, ten follow-up surveys have been conducted. In 2014, survey participants were, on average, 30 years old.


Description of the visualisation

By means of dumbbell plots, the visualisation displays the development of the various subgroups' average monthly gross income throughout the period of observation (2003-2014). The blue plots show the nominal income, the orange plots represent full time equivalents (FTE). Placing the cursor on any one of the blue or orange arrows will display the income development curve of the respective subgroup. Placing the cursor on any of the data points of the curve will a tooltip will provide you with its numeric value and the number of cases on which the value is based. If the number of cases is below 30, the numeric value is displayed in red in order to signal limited accuracy of the average's estimation. Please not that the calculation only accounts for individuals who were not in education parallel to their gainful activity.

Blue line = nominal income (Nm)

Orange line = full time equivalent income (Fte)

DE = German-speaking Switzerland

IT / FR = French- and Italian-speaking Switzerland

SEK1 = extended academic requirements

SEK2 = basic academic requirements

EDUP1 = no post-compulsory degree

EDUP2 = degree at upper secondary level

EDUP3 = degree at tertiary level

HED0 = no post-compulsory degree

HED1 = upper secondary level: vocational education & training (VET)

HED2 = upper secondary level: vocational baccalaureate

HED4 = upper secondary level: general education baccalaureate

HED30 = tertiary level: professional education and training (PET)

HED31 = tertiary level: university



Data

You can download the original data HERE and the treated data HERE. THIS Github repository provided some inspiration for the present visualisation. Average income values are weighted, i.e. they account for (and correct) sample biases.


Contact

Programmer: Daniel Matyas

Bachelor Sport Science and Business Administration
Universität Bern

LinkedIn

Data Coach:
Thomas Meyer

Co-head of the TREE study
University of Bern, Institute of Sociology

TREE Website

TREE Universität Bern
1. TREE-Kohorte: Durchschnittseinkommen 2003-2014 von Schulabgängern des Jahres 2000

1. TREE-Kohorte: Durchschnittseinkommen 2003-2014 von Schulabgängern des Jahres 2000

Was ist TREE?

TREE (Transitionen von der Erstausbildung ins Erwerbsleben) ist eine nationale Kohorten-Studie, welche Abgängerinnen und Abgänger der obligatorischen Schule aus der ganzen Schweiz auf ihrem Weg durch nachobligatorische Ausbildungen und bei ihrem Übergang ins Berufs- und Erwachsenenleben wissenschaftlich begleitet. Die erste Stichprobe (TREE1) verliess die obligatorische Schule im Jahr 2000 und wurde bis heute insgesamt zehn Mal zu ihrem Werdegang nachbefragt. 2014 waren die Studienprobandinnen und -probanden durchschnittlich 30 Jahre alt.


Erläuterung der Visualisierung

Die Visualisierung zeigt mittels Dumbbell Plots die Entwicklung des monatlichen Bruttoeinkommens der verschiedenen Gruppierungen über den Beobachtungszeitraum (2003-2014). Die blauen Plots zeigen das nominale (effektive) Einkommen, die orangen Plots zeigen das vollzeitäquivalente Einkommen (Fte = Full Time Equivalent). Wenn Sie mit dem Mauszeiger über einen der blauen oder orangen Pfeile fahren, wird die entsprechende Entwicklungskurve angezeigt. Wenn Sie in einer ausgeklappten Kurve mit der Maus auf einen bestimmten Datenpunkt fahren, zeigt Ihnen ein Tooltip den numerischen Durchschnittswert und die Anzahl (ungewichteter) Fälle (n) an, auf denen der Wert basiert. Werte, bei denen n < 30 ist, sind rot eingefärbt, um die eingeschränkte Schätzgenauigkeit aufgrund relativ kleiner Fallzahlen zu signalisieren. Es ist zu beachten, dass nur Erwerbseinkommen von Personen berücksichtigt wurden, die nicht parallel zur Erwerbstätigkeit in Ausbildung waren.

Blaue Linie = Nominales Einkommen (Nm)

Orange Linie = vollzeitäquivalentes Einkommen (engl. full time equivalent [Fte])

DE = Deutschschweiz

IT / FR = Französische und italienische Schweiz

SEK1 = erweiterte Anforderungen

SEK2 = Grundanforderungen

EDUP1 = kein nachobligatorischer Abschluss

EDUP2 = Abschluss der Sekundarstufe II

EDUP3 = Abschluss der Tertiärstufe

HED0 = kein nachobligatorischer Abschluss

HED1 = Sekundarstufe II: berufliche Grundbildung (EFZ)

HED2 = Sekundarstufe II: Berufsmaturität

HED4 = Sekundarstufe II: Gymnasiale Maturität

HED30 = Tertiärstufe: Abschluss der höheren Berufsbildung

HED31 = Tertiärstufe: Hochschulabschluss



Daten

Die Originaldaten können hier und die aufbereiteten Daten hier heruntergeladen werden. Als Inspiration zur Visualisierung diente dieses Github Repository. Die Durchschnittswerte der Einkommen sind gewichtet, d.h. sie korrigieren systematische Verzerrungen der Stichprobe.


Kontakt

Programmierer: Daniel Matyas

Bachelor Sport Science and Business Administration
Universität Bern

LinkedIn

Data-Coach: Thomas Meyer

Ko-Projektleiter der TREE-Studie
Institut für Soziologie der Universität Bern

TREE Website